A vegetarian diet excludes meat, poultry, and seafood. Beyond that, there are three main types of vegetarians. Lacto-vegetarians consume dairy, but not eggs. An ovo-vegetarian diet includes eggs, but not dairy. And lacto-ovo vegetarians eat both dairy and eggs. When you see a Hungry Girl recipe identified as vegetarian, it means lacto-ovo vegetarian, the broadest of the three terms.
A vegan diet is free of both animal products and byproducts. This means no dairy, eggs, honey, gelatin, or whey. Many vegetarian recipes can be made vegan by using vegan substitutes like almond milk and plant-based egg substitute. (I LOVE Just Egg
!) My niece Lauren is vegan, so I’m always looking for ways to help her out in the food arena!
This one isn’t an official regulated claim, but plant-based diets generally follow vegan specifications, emphasize whole foods (fruits, veggies, beans, etc.), and limit processed foods and ingredients. So while Oreos are vegan, they aren’t exactly plant-based. Some plant-based dieters consume limited amounts of lean meats, with a diet that consists mainly of plant-based foods. In the Hungry Girl world, we consider a food plant-based if it’s vegan and made mostly with whole foods.
Just because a product is vegetarian, vegan, or plant-based, that doesn’t necessarily mean it’s low in calories. So if you’re watching your calorie intake, always take a close look at those nutritional panels!